Niyamas are also five and are means of personal discipline. These tell us how to interact with ourselves. The five niyamas are as follows:-

Shauch (Cleanliness): It is of two types external and internal. One should be clean internally by renouncing possessions and vicious desires and externally by appropriate use of water and other cleansing agents. Shauch is of six (6) types, which are as follows:

  1. Neti – Nasal cleansing, which has main 2 parts: 1.
    1. Jala neti: Jalaneti contains 4 parts:
      1. Jala Neti: Preforms with Luke-warm water and Sendha Salt
      2. Dugdha Neti: Preforms with Luke-warm Milk
      3. Ghritta Neti: Preforms with Luke-warm Desi Ghee
      4. Mutra Neti: Preforms with Luke-warm water and a few drops of cow fresh urine.
    2. Sutra neti;
  2. Dhauti – cleansing of the digestive tract;
  3. Nauli – abdominal massage or ‘churning’;
  4. Bhasti– colon cleansing;
  5. Kappalabhati ‘shining skull breath’ – purification and vitalisation of the frontal lobes, and
  6. Trataka or ‘blinkless gazing’, commonly known as candle gazing.

Santosh (Contentment): It means the absence of desire to possess more of the necessities of life than are necessary for its preservation. It implies that one should work honestly and to one’s full capability and then be satisfied with the result of one’s efforts. It is a state of mind and inner mental peace. Contentment is the greatest wealth.

TAPA (Austerity): It is the capacity to face all odds and difficulties in the performance of righteousness. It implies that one should have the strength and fortitude to remain unaffected by the opposites of life. In short, the practice of good conduct, in the face of all difficulties is TAPA. However, it does not imply willing infliction of pain to the body.

SWADHYAYA (Study of good literature, etc): It means study of scriptures, other religions literature, etc. In general, study of all good literature which guides a person towards moral values, good conduct, righteousness mat be deemed as SWADHYAYA. It also mens study of the self or self analysis which leads to progress moral and spiritual life. It is the nature of self education and self improvement. It purifies the mind and spirit by enhancing true knowledge, right understanding and discrimination.

ISHWAR PRANIDHAN (Surrender to God): It means total dedication of all thoughts and actions to the SUPREME. In other words, it involves absolute faith in God. It means resignation to the will of God. One has to first understand the true concept of God, his nature and attributes and then accept Him as Guru and Guide. In includes true and sincere worship of God and complete dedication to him with full faith, love and devotion.

External Limbs

  1. Yam
  2. Niyam
  3. Asan
  4. Pranayam

Internal Limbs

  1. Pratyahaar
  2. Dharna
  3. Dhyan (Meditation)
  4. Samadhi